Instagram Lets You “Bookmark” Your Favourite Posts

Instagram Lets You “Bookmark” Your Favourite Posts

423
0
SHARE

Instagram is a simple way to capture and share the world’s moments. Follow your friends and family to see what they’re up to, and discover accounts from all over the world that are sharing things you love.

The recent update of Instagram brings a bookmark button under each photo which you can click on it to save the post and send it off to a gallery that only you can see at a later time which is like a curated version of Liked Photos. The idea is that there are times you’ll encounter content you’ll want to revisit – including perhaps a product you want to buy from one of Instagram’s advertisers.

Instagram says the bookmarking icon is rolling out now in version 10.2 of its mobile app for iOS and Android.

In its announcement Instagram suggests you could use the feature for those times when you “stumble upon a funny video you want to remember a new outfit you like or even inspiration for an upcoming vacation.”

Those latter two items position the app as something of a challenge to the image and link-saving pinboard site, Pinterest which also focuses on inspiring users ahead of their eventual purchases.

The company is already touting the new feature to potential advertisers explaining that it could be used by people who want to remember a post about their business.

Additionally the new feature is similar to Facebook’s own “Save” option, which is often used with links and videos you want to go back to read or watch later. On Instagram, being able to bookmark videos could also lead to increased app engagement from users who will go back to watch and rewatch their favorite content.

To see the saved pics and clips go to your profile and tap the same bookmarks icon. A gallery of saved content will appear and you’ll be able to easily scroll through it and select the content you wanted to access. The only thing to note is that these are bookmarks and not saved posts so if a user deletes something it will no longer appear on your bookmarks tab.

To use the new feature, you’ll have to update your Instagram application first. So download and update to whichever ones work on your devices. Then just tap the new bookmarks icon that appears in the bottom right corner of a picture or video to save it to your private collection.

NO COMMENTS

LEAVE A REPLY